Does it get any easier?

Maybe not the best place to post this comment, but I'm looking for insight...

I've been coding off and on for about 20 years now, so I know the basics pretty well. Back when I started coding in 2000 I began with Assembly Language, if anyone can remember that. Over the last few years I've tried to get to know Objective-C but never well enough to put an app on the app store.

Now I have dove into the App Development with Swift book with full commitment and I'm more half way through it. But I'm getting a bit nervous or lost on how to put this all together. I do the challenge apps, all the Lab Playgrounds and understand how the app works (for the most part), but then I begin to wonder how to put this knowledge all together into an app, how to know when to use what.

Is there a path to coding in Swift with confidence? So to speak... Or a point I realize that it comes together.

Did most new programmers start this way? Or is it just me?

Accepted Reply

Great. Good luck. And to keep forum clean, don't forget to close the thread.

Replies

With version 5, Swift just came together itself.

Don't compare learning a relatively new language with a comparatively brief body of work behind it, to something that's been around long enough to have enjoyed significant evolution, support, examples of all types, documentation etc.

As for easier, in my 50+ years of programming, ease comes, if at all, only after you've lived and worked with a language for a while. Might be you just need to put in more time in this case.

In the mean time, if you haven't already, it might pay to take a deep dive over at swift.org

Good luck.

You're not the only one.

I went the same path, from Apple Basic, some assembly, Pascal (a lot) with Mac API (full inside Mac to study) and event driven programming.

And then the BIG change to go Object Oriented.

I tried ObjC but never really made it.

Swift was much more natural to me.