Does Apple force your users to opt-in to a free Apple trial?

My app got rejected because I have a subscription-based monetization model and provide my own way of giving 30 day free trial. My app can be used on iOS, Web and Android. I don't ask users to login or give any credit card information before the 30 day trial expires.

I thought it was fine — *literally everyone on the app store does it*. But then my app got rejected for using external trial so I had to introduce opt-in wall provided by Apple before users can use my app at all. So users have to opt-in *before* they get any value from the app.

Did any of you got forced by Apple to introduce the trial wall that autorenews into a payable subscription unless the subscription is cancelled? Is this the usual Apple practice now?

Replies

In your scheme, how does the user pay if ever he/she decides to confirm the trial ?

Does this occur through AppStore ?

If not, that's the problem.

In my scheme, users on Apple devices *only* see ways to purchase the subscription through in-app purchases, I was careful not to include any notes about other ways to purchase the subscription. In my case, the Apple in-app purchase wall would appear *after* 30 days are over, not prior to it.

Apple didn't like it and forced me into showing the Apple in-app purchases paywall *before* users can do anything in the app. It's a todo app so users cannot even create a single todo without opting-in to the free trial.

I just wonder if it is the usual rule or if my review team went crazy. I don't see this approch in *any* respectful app on the store 😟

As usual, what happens to other apps cannot be used nor be an indication of what will happen to yours.

So don't use this as an argument when you reply to the reviewer of if you appeal.

It is much better to explain bluntly and honestly what you are doing, how it works.