Error: Unable to boot the Simulator

I'm having an issue that I can't quite figure out. I'm new to Swift and Xcode, I set up Xcode last week and it worked fine all week.

Then today I started getting an issue when I click on any storyboard in any project where it takes aprox 20 seconds of spinning before it loads and a long time when I try to change anything. The projects I created last week don't display properly anymore, no images, text fields resized to be unreadable. I even made a hello world project and added just one object (I tried different types) and I still get "Internal error occurred. Editing functionality maybe limited" and the link to report a bug has no file. When I try to build the project the project succeeds, but I get the following error:

Details

Unable to boot the Simulator.

Domain: NSPOSIXErrorDomain

Code: 60

Failure Reason: launchd failed to respond.

--

System Information

macOS Version 10.15.4 (Build 19E287)

Xcode 11.4.1 (16137)

When I try to build selecting my iPhone and putting in my team, it says device not available (however I did not try this last week).

I tried restarting my computer, I tried reinstalling Xcode and deleting files, but I clearly missed some because when I started up it opened the last project I had open befre I deleted. I tried resetting the NVRAM. I tried cleaning the build folder. I tried deleting the derived data. I tried deleting and reinstalling all the simulators.

The only thing I can think of that would be different from last week is I changed my Apple ID login, but I'm not even using a developer license yet, I'm just trying to use the simulator and was leaving it blank, so I wouldn't *think* that would matter.

Any suggestions woule be greatly appreciated, thanks!

Edit: I deleted Xcode and tried installing Xcode 10.2.1 and still having the same issue

Replies

Suggest you run the Simulator first, keep/icon/in/dock makes that easier.