SceneKits future

I have developed an app using SceneKit since Swift came out. Now SwiftUI is out and uses structs rather than classes. SceneKit is a cascade of classes. As a newbie, I am concerned that my code might be obsolete through depreciations soon after publication and I'd rather get ahead of the issues now.

So, is SceneKit long-term viable?

My first attempts at converting my custom classes to structs seems impossible without Apple leading the way. If I understand correctly, I can make a struct whose only member is an instance of a class, but the benefits of the struct, e.g., minimal memory, processing time, etc., are lost.

Replies

If you want to go ultra modern and start an app that's Swift-only, note that you can begin using RealityKit in replacement of SceneKit. If you're not interested in AR use-cases, you can set ARView's cameraMode to .nonAR.

// Don’t use an ARSession or camera pass through

arView.cameraMode = .nonAR

• Wait, can RealityKit be used in place of SceneKit? I know that RealityKit offers multi thread rendering but isn't supported by watch os or tv os. Aside from that is RealityKit the successor to SceneKit?

• to my experience with apple ecosystem it is looks like SceneKit is going to be deprecated soon.

Add a Comment

are you implying scenekit is dead?

Hello Bobjt and thank you for this clarification.

I was about to begin a game project and I chose Scenekit.

I went through tutorials from RW so I would say I am Scenekit ready.

However, I find lot of clues here on the forum, on the internet also that make me think spending my time improving my scenekit skills is not worthy.

You advise to start an App using RealityKit.

Iy makes me doubt.

I am currently beginning to learn Unity.

Would you advise me to go and learn RealityKit? And why?

Regards

Behr

Post not yet marked as solved Up vote reply of Behr Down vote reply of Behr

There are a few considerable reasons to choose RealityKit: