Xcode notarization and hardened runtime issue

Hi, I'm somewhat new to swift and coding in general, so thanks for your help in advance. I'm building an application that uses Process class to launch a Unix Executable (Swift 5, Cocoa). Unfortunately, when I go to notarize my application, I get the below error. The trouble is, hardened runtime is already enabled and working (along with sandbox). I have tried everything I can think of including removing and re-adding the executable, cleaning build folders, messing with targets, changing hardened runtime exceptions, etc. I have even attempted to force enable hardened runtime on the executable by using "codesign --force --deep --options runtime <Devloper ID Application cert identity> <path to executable>, however, this appears to break the executable, making zsh throw a "Segmentation Fault" when it is run. (the broken executable successfuly passes notarization, but that doesn't help me much) Thanks so much for your help, please tell me if anything was unclear or confusing. 🙂

Error:

Distribution items ineligible: Error Domain=IDEDistributionMethodDeveloperIDErrorDomain Code=1 "Hardened Runtime is not enabled." UserInfo={NSLocalizedDescription=Hardened Runtime is not enabled., NSLocalizedRecoverySuggestion="myunixexecutable" must be rebuilt with support for the Hardened Runtime. Enable the Hardened Runtime capability in the project editor, test your app, rebuild your archive, and upload again.}

Replies

These problems are usually caused by things like incorrectly structured bundles, bad Info.plists, incorrect entitlements, and just crazy stuff.

I'm curious about exactly what you are doing with zsh in this app. I suggest posting an outline of your bundle structure to start with. And maybe list your entitlements too.