Different numbers of thread on different MacBook

Hi,

I have a python program use libwx_osx_cocoau-3.0.0.3.0.dylib, and it explicitely create 3 threads in source codes. I tried to run on 4 MacBooks, os version from 10.14.6 to 10.15.1, the performance are really bad on two of these MacBooks. By using Activity Monitor, I found that on the two bad-performance MacBooks, my program has 14-18 threads, and 400M real Memory usage. While on the other two MacBooks, my program has 8-9 threads, and <200M real Memory usage.

I am very new to OSX and have some experience in Linux system only. My understanding is that the threads and real memory should be kind of in the same range on different machines.

(BTW, no sure whether this will provide more information, but this program worked very well before 10.14 for years)

Can anyone give me some hint on why the numbers of threads differs on those MacBooks and how should I debug, fix source codes or change configuration to make all MacBook work well?

Thanks a lot.

Replies

You would have to ask the developers of that library.

To expand on john daniel’s response, there are various ways that this library could decide to spin up more threads, and it’s pretty much impossible to know how they chose to do this from the ‘outside’. It’s most likely that they’re doing something with the number of CPUs, but in a world of multiple cores, NUMA, hyperthreading, big/LITTLE [1], and so on, a simple CPU count makes little sense.

Share and Enjoy

Quinn “The Eskimo!”
Apple Developer Relations, Developer Technical Support, Core OS/Hardware

let myEmail = "eskimo" + "1" + "@apple.com"

[1] This is an Arm thing, so you won’t see it on the Mac, but it’s all part of the some problem.