Notarization says I'm not member of my team

I'm part of several teams in AppStore Connect and notarizing works fine for team Alice. However, when I try to notarize an app for team Bob, "altool" says I'm not part of the team even though I'm an admin of that team according to the AppStoreConnect homepage. Example:

$ xcrun altool --notarization-history -u me@company.com -p '@keychain:Notarization' --asc-provider TeamBobID
2019-07-08 11:28:33.248 altool[32077:2353610] *** Error: Failed to get notarization history:
(
    "Error Domain=ITunesConnectionOperationErrorDomain Code=1296 \"The username me@company.com is not a member of the provider TeamBobID. Contact your team admin for assistance.\" UserInfo={NSLocalizedRecoverySuggestion=The username my@company.com is not a member of the provider TeamBobID. Contact your team admin for assistance., NSLocalizedDescription=The username me@company.com is not a member of the provider TeamBobID. Contact your team admin for assistance., NSLocalizedFailureReason=Apple Services operation failed.}"

I double-checked the team ID for team Bob and am confident it is correct. What can I do/check to resolve this?

Accepted Reply

It took several weeks, Apple Developer Technical Support and Apple Developer Program Support to figure this out.

First, the error message is misleading. The real message should be: "Could not find provider shortname TeamBobID." It turns out altool does not want the Team/Provider ID (which you can find for example on the "Membership" page of developer.apple.com), it wants the so-called "provider shortname" which is not further explained in the man page or the text printed by `altool`. Most of the time, the "provider shortname" and Team/Provider ID are the same, but for our team it wasn't. Maybe because our team is very old.

Instructions on how to really obtain this "provider shortname" can be found in the first answer from "eskimo" (Quinn) to this thread.

Replies

Hello

Did you find out what was going wrong?