Wrong assistant editor

Hello everybody

This is my first post because I'm new to work with xcode. Now I have a problem. On the "Main.storyboard" I designed the first and second page. When I open the assistant editor on the first screen, it shows me the correct one with the name "viewController.swift". On the second screen I inserted a "SettingsViewController.swift" under class after creating a new "cocoa touch class" file with the name "SettingsViewController.swift". When I activate the assistant editor on the second screen, it shows me the file called "UIResponder.h". I can not switch it manually. What am I doing wrong? I hope for a helpful answer. And I apologize for my spelling or gramatik.

Thank you very much

Replies

Let's look at it step by step to be sure to understand.

First, which version of XCode ?

On the "Main.storyboard" I designed the first and second page.

1. You have 2 viewControllers in the storyboard. Exact ?

2. The first was created automatically and has a class ViewController. Exact ?

3. You created the second by dragging a ViewController from the object library to the canvas. Exact ?

When I open the assistant editor on the first screen, it shows me the correct one with the name "viewController.swift".

How do you open ? In XCode 10, by clicking on the intertwined OO

On XCode11, by hitting the button at top right with the horizal lines and select Assistant Editor. Then the horizontal lines icon turn into the intertwined OO

5. Which one ?

On the second screen I inserted a "SettingsViewController.swift" under class after creating a new "cocoa touch class" file with the name "SettingsViewController.swift".

6. You created a subclass SettingsViewControlle of UIViewController ?

So in its code (SettingsViewController.swift), you should have:

class SettingsViewController: UIViewController {

7. Exact ?

8. In the identity inspector for the scene, you have a custom class : SettingsViewController. Exact ?