Notarize and staple ticket to unix executable

This query on how to staple ticket with unix executable after notarization. I am new to MAC OSX environment. Following steps are used to notarize and staple unix executable :-

1) Enabled hardened runtime to already created unix executable with command :- codesign --force --option runtime --sign "Developer ID Application: Company LLP" <unix executable>

2) Created the directory codesign_utilities

2) Added all the codesigned unix executables into it and compressed it to zip file as :- zip -r codesign_utilities.zip codesign_utilities

3) Run command for notarization:- xcrun altool --notarize-app --primary-bundle-id "com.def.ghi" --username <developer ID> --password <related password> --file codesign_utilities.zip. I am able to notarize the zip file.

4) Later, I am trying to staple the ticket with unix executables part of zip file with command:- xcrun stapler staple <unix executable>. But, it is throwing error as

"Could not remove existing ticket from <unix executable>/Contents/CodeResources ... {Error Domain=NSPOSIXErrorDomain Code=20 "Not a directory"}}

The staple and validate action failed! Error 73.

I believe the error is occuring because it is just unix executable and not a executable bundle in .app format.

Query:-

- Can you help me what are the best ways to staple the ticket with unix executable?

- Is it mandatory to create executable bundle for notarization and stapling? If yes, please provide the steps?

Replies

I have the same question... Hope someone can answer.

https://developer.apple.com/documentation/security/notarizing_your_app_before_distribution/customizing_the_notarization_workflow?language=objc

"Although tickets are created for standalone binaries, it’s not currently possible to staple tickets to them."