Captive page very slow

Hi eskimo :

I'm a developer who browse Apple Developer Forums.I want to ask you the question about captive portal.Now I use the WiFidog,a captive portal suite,to implement this function.I use some iPhone such as iPhone6,6s,SE,that could popup authentication page quickly(For example like attachment).However,I use iPhone7 and iPhone X that popup authentication page very slowly,which takes about 50 seconds.I guess there is the problem for Evaluate and hotspothelper.But I don't know how to solve the problem if I couldn't change the iPhone which is Customer-owned.

Looking forward to receiving your reply.

Replies

[FYI, I edited your post’s title to be something more meaningful.]

I use some iPhone such as iPhone6,6s,SE,that could popup authentication page quickly … However, I use iPhone7 and iPhone X that popup authentication page very slowly, which takes about 50 seconds.

What I recommend you do here is use a packet trace to compare how these two devices load your captive portal page. That should give you some idea of what’s causing the slowdown.

I recommend that you use RVI for this (see Recording a Packet Trace), because that will show you if some traffic is going over WWAN.

Share and Enjoy

Quinn “The Eskimo!”
Apple Developer Relations, Developer Technical Support, Core OS/Hardware

let myEmail = "eskimo" + "1" + "@apple.com"

Thank you for your reply.During this period of time,I made new discoveries.If I restore the iPhone to factory settings,it could popup authentication page quickly while it did slowly before.And it will get well after I closed the "WiFi-Assist" in iPhone 8,while it won't in iPhone X.I don't know what the reason is.