Redraw MTKView when its size changes

I am new to Metal and must therefore be missing something obvious here. I am using an MTKView to present some content. It all works very well, except that I get some jerky motion when the view is resized. The problem is that I don't want the view to simply scale its content when it is resized, but instead I would like to redraw the content entirely myself. I have set paused and enableSetNeedsDisplay to YES, so the view only gets redrawn when needed (the content is not animated, but it changes in response to user action and I need to take advantage of the GPU to make this responsive), but my delegate's drawInMTKView: method only gets called very occasionally when the window (and therefore the MTKView) is resized.

In between these calls, it seems that the MTKView simply rescales its content, which then yields jerks whenever the window content gets refreshed. The mtkView: drawableSizeWillChange: method seems to be called more often during the resize, so I tried directly calling the view's draw method from there. This works a bit better, but still leads to jerks, only more often and less pronounced. It also somehow doesn't feel like the right thing to do anyway...

Replies

Try setting MTKView.autoResizeDrawable to NO (this is YES by default). The drawable will not resize so rendering will get blurrier as the window gets bigger (since there will be less pixels in the drawable than pixels in the window). When the resize finishes completely, you can set the drawableSize to something that matches the windowsize a little better.

Thanks a lot, but this is precisely what I am trying to avoid. I do not want the content to be simply rescaled when the size changes, but instead I would like to have the opportunity to rerender the content myself as soon as the size changes.