macOS app not running on different mac

Hello together;

Im very new to Swift Programming and writing macOS Applications
and can't figure out what the problem with my app is.
On my MacBook (development mac) it is building flawlessly without any error

and the archived and signed app is running as expected.
I wanted to share the application with a friend of mine and hes not able to open the app.
When he double clicks it theres a simple dialog with the alert: "The programm XX can not be opened"

without any further error message.
The macOS console didnt provide any useful info either:

spawn_via_launchd() failed, errno=1

I used the automatic signing in XCode with my Developer ID.
If anyone has an idea of what might be wrong that would be great!
Best regards

David

Accepted Reply

Hello eskimo;

I think I found the error why the program wasnt starting:
I transferred the .app / .dmg to my friend via Telegram Messenger and it seems like they sanitized or manipulated

something of the executable that it wasnt runnable anymore.
I uploaded the dmg to my server and he downloaded it: now everything works as expected 🙂
Thanks for your input!

Replies

In this context the error 1 is

EPERM
, meaning there’s definitely some sort of permissions issue. This is likely to be something to do with Gatekeeper.

The best way to test this is to zip up your app, upload it to a web server (if you don’t have a handy web server, email it to yourself), and then download it again. The downloaded archive will be flagged as needing to be checked by Gatekeeper, as will the contents of the archive when you unpack it. You can then run the app and it’s likely that it’ll have the same problem you’re friend is seeing.

Once you’re able to reproduce the problem, post back and we can talk about what might be causing it.

Share and Enjoy

Quinn “The Eskimo!”
Apple Developer Relations, Developer Technical Support, Core OS/Hardware

let myEmail = "eskimo" + "1" + "@apple.com"

Hey eskimo,