C++ desktop development in Xcode 10

I am fairly new to development - mostly trying things out to see what I llike - and I have been drawn to C++ (yes I know it's a ***** for a newbie, I must really hate myself, .....).

I'm familiar with Xcode's Command Line Tool but I would like to experiment with other things, like desktop applications. However, I do not know enough about the console command line / console / Terminal to know if I can use this template on Xcode to develop a desktop program. I've looked this up online, but I can't really find anything that talks about this. The search results steer me in another direction.

Are there any good extensions that could help? (I'm trying to avoid any third party IDEs right now, until I can get a solid foundation.)

Replies

You'll want to elaborate on what you mean by "Desktop". I'm not entirely certain where you're headed, here. I think it's to the GUI, but you're also discussing command-line work, so...

If that's developing apps that display in the Terminal.app window and that use ANSI control sequences for character positioning and text-related handling, or if you're referring to the graphical display and to how apps such as Xcode.app itself and Finder.app and Mail.app and the rest displays its user interface.