IPhone app crashes after a few days

I am new to developing IPhone apps and this is my first attempt.

I have made a simple app which has two buttons in it. One button opens a URL and the other opens a Pop-up window.

I am yet to enroll as an apple developer and am testing my application on the physical device by connecting it to Xcode.

When I install the application, it runs properly for a few days in spite of disconnecting it from XCode. However, after a few days, the application does not open and flashes a black blank screen and goes back to the home screen.

When I reconnect it to Xcode and run the same code again on the same Iphone, it again works properly for a few days and then crashes again.

I am unable to understand why is the app behaving in such a manner after a few days and not immediately.

Is there some expiry period for application when one has not signed in as a developer?(The provisioning profile shows expiring soon)If not, can you please guide me as to how to go about troubleshooting this issue?

Kindly give me your esteemed suggestions/comments as I am badly stuck and need to find a solution as soon as possible.

Thanks a lot!

Replies

This is a guess:

You probably have something in your app that allocates memory and never releases it. After some time -- days -- the quantity of memory builds up to the point where the OS terminates your app.

To be sure, you need to look at crash information for your app. When it's attached to Xcode, you can find logs by opening the Devices window, selecting your device, and viewing the logs. There is also a device console log display that you can show at the bottom of the Devices window. Sometimes it shows messages that provide clues.

If it does turn out to be a memory problem, use the Instruments tool that comes with Xcode to identify how the memory is being used.

Just out of curiosity, if it could be a memory leak, dont you think app should again start working once the Iphone is restarted?