-[NEAgentExtension beginExtens:123 Failed to start extension : Error Domain=PlugInKit Code=16 "other version in use:

Hi,

I am a developer on MacOSX. I am developing a VPN App on Mac. I have installed our VPN App under /Applications folder and it run very well. When I run my VPN App with Xcode build, The Network Extension tunnel providers sometimes can not be started. And I open the VPN App under /Applications folder,The Network Extension tunnel providers can't not be started too, The details are as follows.

17:26:02.293043 +0800 neagent -[NEAgentExtension beginExtens:123 Failed to start extension com.skyvpn.app.mac.tunnel: Error Domain=PlugInKit Code=16 other version in use: <PKPlugin: 0x7fecc5f488f0 com.skyvpn.app.mac.tunnel (1) EE56639F-F0A4-413D-BE16-6F7DDA2EB0F1 3 (0) /Applications/SkyVPN.app/Contents/PlugIns/SkyVPNTunnel.appex> UserInfo={NSLocalizedDescription=other version in use: <PKPlugin: 0x7fecc5f488f0 com.skyvpn.app.mac.tunnel (1) EE56639F-F0A4-413D-BE16-6F7DDA2EB0F1 (0) /Applications/SkyVPN.app/Contents/PlugIns/SkyVPNTunnel.appex>} 3

How do I kill /Applications/SkyVPN.app/Contents/PlugIns/SkyVPNTunnel.appex>, in order to ensure that the Network Extension tunnel providers can start successfully again.

Thanks,

lslboy

Replies

You should read my posts on this thread, which offers some general hints and tips about dealing with NE providers are macOS. Specifically, it discussed the

pluginkit
tool, which you can use during debugging to avoid confusion like this.

IMPORTANT For your testing proper your should start on a fresh machine. I typically use a VM for this.

Second,

Share and Enjoy

Quinn “The Eskimo!”
Apple Developer Relations, Developer Technical Support, Core OS/Hardware

let myEmail = "eskimo" + "1" + "@apple.com"