How to update hosted content with Xcode9?

Application Loader 3.7 no longer supports in-app purchase delivery.

http://help.apple.com/itc/apploader/#/apdS73193199

I have an app in the store that has IAP's with Apple-hosted content. Does anyone know the process now for updating the hosted content?

Accepted Reply

We have the same issue. After the update to Application Loader, we would have expected some kind of content replacement functionality in iTunes Connect, but iTC doesn't seem to have functionality for uploading content in the first place, let alone updating it.

The only lead is in the link you already posted - XML delivery. It seems we must use Apple's Transporter command line tool to deliver this content / metadata.

https://help.apple.com/itc/transporteruserguide/#/itc0d5b535bf

I have no experience of this yet, so it looks like it's time to read up and figure it out. To be honest, I'm kind of blown away at how poorly this transition was handled given the ramifications for developers who may have been heavily reliant on Application Loader. Fair enough, I'm sure XML delivery is a viable alternative, but some kind of specific help, not to mention forewarning, would have been merited in my opinion. Leaving us to scrabble around in the revision history of documentation for a piece of software that no longer supports the function we rely on, in the aftermath of making the change, is less than adequate. Perhaps I missed something obvious?

UPDATE:

I have now successfully updated an in-app purchase's hosted content using the command line transporter tool.

You can install Transporter separately to XCode / Application Loader. I prefer to do this if I'm forced to use it separately as I find it cleaner and easier to update. You can find the instructions here:

https://help.apple.com/itc/transporteruserguide/#/apdAbeb95d60

An example workflow for updating an existing in-app purchase's content would be thus: