Using the camera capture as a texture

In the WWDC Introcucing ARKit video it shows how to use sceneview.snapshot() on a material.

I would like to be able to use the live video feed, before anything is rendered on top of it, as a texture. Is this going to be possible through Scenekit? presumably I need to be looking somewhere different.

Replies

Has nobody got any suggestions? It seems possible with Metal but is there simply no way to get at the camera data before anything else is rendered on top of it via Scenekit?

Yes, use capturedImage (sceneView.session.currentFrame?.capturedImage) instead of snapshot

Thankyou. I'm new to scenekit and am currently using pre prepared scene files for everything. It's about time to learn how to build my own geometry and assign textures to it. The only reference I've seen for this is the demo in the WWDC ARKit video where sceneview.snapshot is copied to textures. What I want to do is use the moving camera image from currentframe.capturedimage AS a texture in the same way a Metal based ARKit app does before rendering the rest of the content. Is this possible? I'm sure the aproach used of copying to another texture would work but it seems like an unnecassary, potentialy quite expensive overhead. Is it possible to set it up as a texture in this way?

My goal here is to give the effect of the ground plane warping into a displaced heightfield. This means I'll also need to write a bit of special code to generate UV coordinates (I think I have the math worked out) which is presumably going to mean looking into how Scenekit handles vertex shaders.

When I tried this, using very similar code to the WWDC presentation using sceneview.snapshot(), all I got was a white texture. This is of course because currentFrame.capturedImage is actually two textures in YUV format.