Error in IOS Coding. Value of Optional type "UIImage?" not unwrapped

Hello, I am pretty new to swift programming and was watching a video made by apple on how to make an app. It seems as though the video is a little outdated, as one of the lines of code has an error. I will post the code below. Next to the code I will also write where the error is. If needed I can upload the files to the project. Thanks and I hope someone can help me fix this problem! (Value of optional type "UIImage?" not unwrapped' did you mean to use "!" or "?"?)

import UIKit

class ViewController: UIViewController {

@IBOutlet weak var photoimageView: UIImageView!

let context = CIContext(options: nil)

@IBAction func applyFilter(_ sender: AnyObject) {

let inputImage = CIImage(image: photoimageView.image) This is where the error occurs

let randomColor = [kCIInputAngleKey: (Double(arc4random_uniform(314)) / 100)]

let filteredImage = inputImage.imageByApplyingFilter("CIHueAdjust", withInputPeramiters: randomColor)

let renderedImage = context.createCGImage(filteredImage, fromRect: filteredImage.extent())

photoimageView.image = UIImage(CGImage: renderedImage)

}

override func viewDidLoad() {

super.viewDidLoad()

}

override func didReceiveMemoryWarning() {

super.didReceiveMemoryWarning()

}

}

Replies

let inputImage = CIImage(image: photoimageView.image)
photoimageView
is a UIImageView. It’s
property is of type
UIImage?
, that is, an optional UIImage. An optional UIImage may be nil, that is, there may be no image there.

You’re trying to pass that optional UIImage to

CIImage(image:)
, but it’s
parameter is of type
UIImage
(not
UIImage?
), and thus you get a compile-time error telling you that the types don’t line up.

You have two basic choices here:

• If you believe that

photoimageView.image
    can never be nil in this context, you can force unwrap the optional. So, your call would look like
    CIImage(image: photoimageView.image!)