Getting a SIGSTOP Error in Tutorial

Hi --

Admittedly, I am very new to learning how to use Xcode, but I successful built beyond this point previously.

I just upgraded to a new system, and decided to rebuild the tutorial, for extra practice on my new machine.

https://developer.apple.com/library/content/referencelibrary/GettingStarted/DevelopiOSAppsSwift/

I have gotten to the part where I need to go into my info.plist to add the Privacy - Photo Library Usage Description, but a couple things are different this time. I'm getting a " Thread 1: signal SIGSTOP" error as opposed to the SIGABRT error, and adding the privacy line is not solving the problem.

When I click on the image, it does nothing, and I can't understand if it's a setting in the simulator that I need to adjust or an error in the code. (I already was troubleshooting the simulator defaulting to the hardware keyboard as opposed to simulated slide up one in the view.)

If anyone could provide me with some assistance it would be greatly appreciated. I've looked over the code, line-by-line a few times and can't see anything that appears to be incorrect.

Thank you!

Replies

Use Xcode's Product menu, then, with the option key pressed, select 'Clean Build Folder'. Confirm no errors in the navigator and go again.

Still no joy, might be you've hit that part of the foodtracker tutorial rumored to be borked.

Good luck.

I don’t think this is related to your privacy usage string. To test this I did the following:

1. I downloaded the final version of the code.

2. I removed the privacy entry from the

Info.plist
  3. I ran the app and tried to access photos.

4. It crashed with a

SIGABRT
  5. In the Xcode console (View > Debug Area > Activate Console) I see a clear message about the missing privacy string.