In Swift, how do I capture every error and send it to a webservice?

I am a solo developer at a government agency. This presents some interesting challanges. First and foremost, I create apps that are not able to access internet resources, and thus I don't have access to some tools that would provide the easy answer to a lot of my problems.

My current problem is that I don't have the ability to use some of the very robust error handeling products out there. However, I need a way to capture crashes on devices that are not teathered to my workstation. I need robust reporting and the ability to see logs for anything that happened on devices that are deployed in places that are not accessable to me easily (think maximum security portion of a ****).

My current thought is capturing every error and sending it to an internal webservice. However, I don't know how to do this without surronding every single line in a try catch.

Does anyone have any experience with this, or with something else entirely that would get me the information I need to debug crashes?

Thanks in advance

Replies

You need to understand that there are three different types of errors in play here:

• machine exceptions, like accessing unmapped memory

• language exceptions, where Objective-C (or C++) code throws an exception

• Swift errors

Swift’s try/catch mechanism will only catch Swift errors. Catching the others is quite a bit trickier.

In general I strongly recommend against implementing your own crash reporting mechanism. It is impossible to make one that’s as reliable as the mechanism built in to the system. However, if you’re working in a secure environment then the Apple crash reporter is not going to work for you.

It seems to me that MDM should provide a crash reporting facility for users like you. AFAIK it does not, but that would make a fine enhancement request. Please post your bug number, just for the record.