iTunes search rate limited? 403 Forbidden errors

Hello!

I am using the following URL to get search results and have started to get 403 (Forbidden) errors back at regular intervals, though other times it works fine:

https://itunes.apple.com/search?term=

I imagine this is due to some rate-limiting from Apple.

Is it documented anywhere how many search requests can be performed and whether or not there is any solution? I read somewhere about an Enterprise account, but have not been able to find any further documentation about this.

I'd appreciate any feedback anyone may have about this 'Enterprise' account adn how to go about applying for one and also what the 'documented' limits are for search calls.

Many thanks in advance for any information you may be able to share on the above.

Replies

hello! I had the same problem!

I am having an issue too of getting a lot of status 403 responses. Although I am doing a large number of searches, I have been running this for over 2 years without problems until now, and also I am getting them even on my first search, and when I search in the browser.

I thought at first the site was down yesterday or was having problems but I am having them today too, and I need to make my new playlist and this is an important step.

I am submitting a bug report for this. Although that screen is taking ages to work.

Something that worked fine last week and isn't working now is a bug.

They certainly make it difficult to actually make contact. You go to the menu option and everywhere tries to drive you somewhere that isn't making contact.

I'm also experiencing the same issue. Making even a few calls in a batch processing run results in subsequent 403 responses. This is the officially recommended architecture per the API caching diagram, so it's definitely a bug. Even if I sleep for an interval between the batch requests, I still get blocked.