Applying symbol hide on interface

I'm a newbie in xCode Programming.

I could successfully hide classes and variables using "@Private" annotation and given attribute "__attribute__((visibility('hidden'))".

However, unlike any other classes, I find it difficult to hide interface since neither "@Private" annotation nor "__attribute__((visibility('hidden'))" is applicable.

Is there an alternative easy way to hide interface?

Thank you.

Replies

I’m confused what you mean by “hide” in this context? Can you post a tiny example that explains this.

Share and Enjoy

Quinn “The Eskimo!”
Apple Developer Relations, Developer Technical Support, Core OS/Hardware

let myEmail = "eskimo" + "1" + "@apple.com"

Let me paraphrasemy question.

When people use 'nm' command on certain library, call it library.a.

And let's say library.a is referencing library.b, and I want to expose only a few methods and classes from library.b.

I will be following these steps

1. Eliminate any internal symbols required between modules by performing a single-object prelink. Set the Xcode build setting named "Perform Single-Object Prelink" to Yes (GENERATE_MASTER_OBJECT_FILE=YES). This causes ld to be run with the "-r" flag.
  2. Make sure that the setting "Strip Style" is set to "Non-global symbols" (STRIP_STYLE=non-global), this passes "-x" to ld.
  3. Stripping is only actually performed on static libraries if post-processing is enabled (and this is not the default). Set Xcode build setting "Deployment Postprocessing" to yes. (DEPLOYMENT_POSTPROCESSING=YES). Also make sure that "Use separate strip" is set to Yes (not always the default) (SEPARATE_STRIP=YES).