Distribute Mac App for Testing without Developer ID

Hello, I'm an admin in our development team and want to distribute an app (to our tester) in the way that

- I don't want to sign it with the developer profile to have to register all Macs of all testers, but

- because I'm not the agent i can't sign it with the Developer ID

Is there a way to do it (with Xcode 8) or how do i an app signed where the user has to select "Anywhere" in Gatekeeper?

Replies

To tidbits:

• Be aware that Gatekeeper’s Anywhere option was removed from macOS 10.12.

• A user always has the option to override Gatekeeper via the Open on the contextual menu.

With regards your actual issue, I think you need to talk this over with your team agent. If you are distributing the team’s code, there should be a way to get it officially signed. Anything else runs counter to the central idea of code signing, that is, folks should be able to identify the origin of any code on their system.

Share and Enjoy

Quinn “The Eskimo!”
Apple Developer Relations, Developer Technical Support, Core OS/Hardware

let myEmail = "eskimo" + "1" + "@apple.com"

oh, i wasn't aware that the Anywhere option was removed... so was my described way to distribute the app possible prior to Sierra?

Now, are the two options to distribute the app for me is either to tell my team's agent to do it or that we have to exchange the private key for the Developer ID so that both of us can distribute the app signed?

… so was my described way to distribute the app possible prior to Sierra?

You should not encourage folks to switch Gatekeeper to Anywhere, regardless of the OS version they’re running. If you want a user to run an app that doesn’t pass Gatekeeper — and, again, this isn’t something I encourage in general — have them do it via the Open contextual menu item. That’s much safer than disabling Gatekeeper as a whole.