index(of: Element) on 2d array’s outside array

I have a 2d array and am trying to access the index of one of the elements of the outside array (therefore the index for a contained 1d array) as shown in the code below:

let int2dArray = [[3, 2], [8, 4]]
for i in int2dArray {
    for j in i {
        let iCurrentIndex = int2dArray.index(of: i)
    }
}

When I try to use index(of: Element), I get the following error message: Cannot invoke 'index' with an argument list of type '(of: Array<Int>)’. I also notice in the code completion suggestions that index(of:) doesn’t show up, but index(where: (Element) -> Bool) does show up. Closures are still a relatively new concept to me (I’m not a total newbie to iOS development but not as experienced yet), so I’m not sure exactly what this method would take as a parameter. Why is this? Does any of this have to do with the element's conformance with Equatable (which is required for this method)?

In Swift 2.x and 1.x (and C++), I could use a C-style for loop and accomplish this because i (in this case) was the actual array index, like so:

for var i = 0; i < int2dArray.count; i++ {
  for var j = 0; j < int2dArray[i].count; j++ {
       let iCurrentIndex = i
  }
}

Any suggestions?

Thanks!

Accepted Reply

It actually looks like a bug in the compiler. You should submit a bug report with the 1st code fragment.

However, if you just want to get hold of the current index, you can do it more easily like this:

for (iCurrentIndex, i) in int2dArray.enumerated () {
  for j in i {
       print (iCurrentIndex, i) // etc
  }
}

That "enumerated" method allows you to get the index and the element at the same time.

Edit: Submitted as bug 28294667.

Replies

It actually looks like a bug in the compiler. You should submit a bug report with the 1st code fragment.

However, if you just want to get hold of the current index, you can do it more easily like this:

for (iCurrentIndex, i) in int2dArray.enumerated () {
  for j in i {