Hi, SMJobBless sample doesn't work for me - probably I got the code-signing wrong. Can someone explain?

Hi.

I'm trying to write an OS-X daemon which must run privileged. It will be launched from a System-Preferences Panel, using the SMJobBless() API.

Naturally I downloaded the Apple SMJobBless sample code, which seems simple enough - but It doesn't function. The app builds and runs, asks me for credentials (I provide my admin user and password), then it fails to launch the daemon, with a fairly cryptic error:

"2016-01-10 15:57:58.357 SMJobBlessApp[81654:3736339] Something went wrong! CFErrorDomainLaunchd / 4"

I'm new to security/priviliges and I admit I expected Apple's own code-sample to work out of the box... So, I started playing with the Xcode project (and target) code-signing parameters, to no avail. I tried to use my own developer ID and team to sign both the app and the daemon - but the error persists.

Can anyone shed a little light on how to (first step...) get this Code-sample to work?

Now, provided that the sample DID run... I still have several implications.

1. My daemon needs to use (compile and link against, load at runtime) 4 Private frameworks, some of which must (for license requirements) reside on the client hard-drive. I can't install them in /Library/Frameworks or ~/Library/Frameworks - they really need to be private, and I can't have them as static libraries - I receive them from a 3rdParty. So they should be dynamically loaded.

I know SMJobBless() copies my privileged daemon's binary to /Library/PrivilegedHelperTools/ and launchd will run it from there - but how can it then find its frameworks? What should I do with the @runpath and @executablepath settings when building the daemon?