Why aren't the Metal Feature Set Tables up to date?

I am a Metal developer who frequently uses the Metal feature set tables. In 2020 just after the iPhone 12 event, the feature set tables were updated immediately to reflect the new A14 GPU. Although Apple released a video detailing the A15's new features and updated the MSL specification, they haven't added A15 to the feature set tables. That would we really helpful incase there were any small additions from A14 -> A15 that weren't documented in the video.

Also, the M1 is in the Apple7 family, but it isn't on the feature set tables because they were last updated before the M1 event. Is Apple waiting until the M2 event in April to add Apple8 to the feature set tables?

Post not yet marked as solved Up vote post of philipturner Down vote post of philipturner
2.4k views
  • Better send a bug report than asking why. Have you already sent one?

• No and I don’t think they’ll respond. My last bug report was for a 2-minute bug fix and it took then 3 months to respond. I even called them on the phone and pointed out their ignoring on a developer forums thread.

Add a Comment

Replies

[this comment was accidentally placed here and relocated to a different position on the thread by the author]

I am also very confused by the absence of A15 in the feature tables. Note that MTLGPUFamily.apple8 (that probably refers to A15) is also undocumented. Come on, Apple, you can do better.

Regarding M1, that one shares the capabilities with A14 (same GPU), so it does not really need a separate feature entry. Would still be nice if they put in M1/A14 for clarity.

They're finally up to date! Thanks for adding a description of Apple7 Mac GPUs and the Apple8 iOS GPU! Hopefully, you'll update it more quickly for the Apple9 family with A16/M2 in fall 2022. Those two chips may be produced on different nodes (4-nanometer vs. 3-nanometer), so we'll have to wait and see whether they have the same architecture.