Open a View from the menu

(Swift, macOS, storyboards)

How to open a view (not a window) by clicking a menu item?

Let's suppose I have one window and two views:

I try to open with Menu item: "open view 1" and item: "open view 2":

(Here I asked the same question. Claude 31 solved very well with a button in one of the views. Here I am asking the same but with a button in the menu or menu item: https://developer.apple.com/forums/thread/690644 )

(Be aware that I am a beginner and I try to learn. Please explain in a simple way if possible)

Accepted Reply

You should better do it in the usual way of macOS programming.

(You have no need to define your own nib, you have no need to define global variables.)

Assuming you already added menu items Open view 1 and Open view 2 as in the screen shot, and the Custom Classes of the two view controllers are FirstViewController and SecondViewController.

(The first may be ViewController, then you may need to replace FirstViewController to ViewController in the following code.)

1. Create a new file MyWindowController.swift and define the IBActions for Open view 1 and Open view 2 in it.

MyWindowController.swift:

import Cocoa

class MyWindowController: NSWindowController {

@IBAction func openView1(_ sender :Any) {
        guard let storyboard = self.storyboard else {
            return
        }
        let firstViewController = storyboard.instantiateController(withIdentifier: "FirstView") as? FirstViewController
        self.window?.contentViewController = firstViewController
    }

@IBAction func openView2(_ sender :Any) {
            return
        }
        let secondViewController = storyboard.instantiateController(withIdentifier: "SecondView") as? SecondViewController
        self.window?.contentViewController = secondViewController
    }

}

2. In the Interface Builder, change the Custom Class of your Window Controller to MyWindowController.