Unable to populate value from CloudKit onto my display

Hello everyone! I am pretty new to SwiftUI and have been trying to figure out a solution to the issue below for about a week.

I can successfully save values in CloudKit, and can load them within the operation.recordFetchedBlock block using print(String(ping.value)) on line 15. However, I can not figure out a way to actually load them on the display within ContentView: View For some reason I continue to get the following (empty array) in the output when using print(loadPing()) on line 9:

[] No Error Found

Below is the code:

struct ContentView: View {
    @StateObject var progress = UserProgress()

var body: some View{
        VStack{
            Button("Submit") {
                progress.ping += 1
                sendItem(counter: progress.ping)
                print(loadPing())
            }
            Text("Ping Count \(progress.ping)")
        }
    }
}
class Ping: NSObject {
    let id = UUID()
    var recordID: CKRecord.ID!
    var name: String!
    var value: String!
}
loadPing() -> [Ping]{
    var newPing = [Ping]()
    let ping = Ping()
    let query = CKQuery(recordType: "PingTest", predicate:      NSPredicate(value: true))
    let operation = CKQueryOperation(query: query)

operation.desiredKeys = ["value", "name"]
    operation.recordFetchedBlock = { record in
        ping.recordID = record.recordID
        ping.name = record["name"]
        ping.value = record["value"]
        newPing.append(ping)

//        print(String(ping.value))
    }

operation.queryCompletionBlock = {(cursor, error) in
            DispatchQueue.main.async {
                if error == nil {
                    print("No Error Found")
                } else {
                    print("Error was Found")
                    print(error!.localizedDescription)
                }
            }
        }
     CKContainer.default().publicCloudDatabase.add(operation)
    return newPing
}