Could not dequeue a view of kind:

I am learning Xcode/Swift from Ahmad Sahar's book and I have an exception error:
Code Block Exception NSException * "could not dequeue a view of kind: UICollectionElementKindCell with identifier restaurantCell - must register a nib or a class for the identifier or connect a prototype cell in a storyboard" 0x00006000002d06c0
name __NSCFConstantString * "NSInternalInconsistencyException" 0x00000001c3059170
reason __NSCFString * "could not dequeue a view of kind: UICollectionElementKindCell with identifier restaurantCell - must register a nib or a class for the identifier or connect a prototype cell in a storyboard" 0x00006000037a09c0
userInfo void * NULL 0x0000000000000000
reserved __NSDictionaryM * 2 key/value pairs 0x0000600000cf0480

The previous action that I did was to Ctrl + Drag from the exploreCell in the ExploreViewController Scene to the RestaurantListViewController Scene, creating a 'Show' Segue.
As I am a beginner I am not sure what the error is telling me?
Can someone help and show me where I am going wrong?

Accepted Reply

Can't spell spelt Restaurant as resturant?
Definitely need a new pair of glasses!

Replies

It would be much easier if we could get the whole code of the class…

But error:
reason __NSCFString * "could not dequeue a view of kind: UICollectionElementKindCell with identifier restaurantCell - must register a nib or a class for the identifier or connect a prototype cell in a storyboard" 0x00006000037a09c0

tells that :
  • you have created a nib file for the cell (.xib): exact ?

• if so, you need to register the cell nib file, with code like (assuming the cell file is "restaurantCell.xib" and that restaurantCell class has the same name restaurantCell :

Code Block
let nib = UINib(nibName: veHeaderCell, bundle: nil)
collectionView.register(nib, forCellReuseIdentifier: "restaurantCell") // I don't know who is the collectionView