Can’t view Storyboard and swift code on the same screen

I am just started to learn iOS programming using Xcode.
This may seem a stupid question but I can't figure out how to set the screen to show the storyboard on the left and the swift code on the right. I am new to Xcode and am working through an exercise and need the Storyboard scenes and the specific swift file where I need to drag from the scene to the swift file. I have clicked on Assistant and the assistant editor should be set to Automatic > LocationViewController.swift. When I click on Assistant with Storyboard selected, it says no Assistant results, if I click on the swift file in the tabs I get 2 copies of the swift file??
I have looked for a tutorial or info on the web but can't find any info on this topic.
Could someone please help?

Accepted Reply

Is this right?
When I click on the swift file in the first window (left) and then click on Assistant I get 2 swift files but the one on the right is an incomplete version of the code. The original one says no selection and the one on the right says Interface.
Still can't open both storyboard and the Swift file?
If I have the storyboard open and click Assistant it says No Assistant Results.
If this second copy of the swift file is a error how do I get rid of it? I have searched in finder an can only find one in my project.

Replies

Would this be the reason?
Code Block 2021-03-18 17:54:41.850809+0000 LetsEat2[11993:109147] [Storyboard] Unknown class _TtC8LetsEat222locationViewController in Interface Builder file.
2021-03-18 17:54:41.878913+0000 LetsEat2[11993:109147] *** Terminating app due to uncaught exception 'NSUnknownKeyException', reason: '[<UIViewController 0x121a05cb0> setValue:forUndefinedKey:]: this class is not key value coding-compliant for the key tableView.'

How do I solve the error?
  • Hello Rocky48, did you solve the problem you mentioned ? I need learn how to solve.

Add a Comment