Apple TvOS detect swipe gesture in SwiftUI on remote control

I'm new in SwiftUI and Apple TV applications and I was wondering how to detect swipe gesture on remote control for TvOS in SwiftUI for the ContentView. Every time I search I just found solutions for UIKit or for iPhone/iPad since the drag gesture is not available to tvOS.
The plan for this gesture when swipe left or right present menus/side panels on the screen and focus on theses views.
Can anyone give some advice/tutorial or demo?

Thanks in advance and KR,
rpessoa
Post not yet marked as solved Up vote post of linuxrp Down vote post of linuxrp
2.5k views
  • Hey @linuxrp I would love to know if you ever found a good solution for this. If I find one I'll be sure to post it here.

• I would recommend using GameController framework and GCController class. I have implemented RemoteController class which detects Siri Remote (1st and 2nd generation), iOS Remote (tvOS remote controller on iPhone) and Nimbus+ and PS game controllers. GCController has the advantage of programmatically add such tweaks as handling arrows on old remote with touch pad in a similar way as on new remote with arrow buttons - user must press touch pad down on old remote to trigger arro press.

Add a Comment

Replies

Did you find any solution to this? Facing same hurdles

Has anyone found a solution to this? CardButtonStyle applies the well-known "parallax effect" (its documentation refers to it as a motion effect) that wiggles the focused element when moving the finger on the Apple TV Remote touch area but I haven't found out how to replicate that effect without the styling that comes with CardButtonStyle.