why two developer certificates all of a sudden, and which do I use?

Hi folks,

Hope you'll entertain a probably simple question.

I am a hobbyist making free iOS apps for healthcare professionals. I only do iOS. For years, I only recall seeing a single developer certificate whenever I went to update certificates, app ID's, provisioning profiles, etc. But recently, I see two certificates.

I don't know why this won't accept screenshots, so I'll type pretty much what I see...

Certificates

[checkbox] Select All

[checkbox] Joshua Steinberg (iOS Development)

[checkbox] Joshua Steinberg (Development) For use in Xcode 11 or later

One seems iOS specific, and I only develop for iOS, so I'm inclined to just check that box when I make a new or renewed provisioning profile or new app ID. On the other hand, the other one seems Xcode 11 specific, and I only use Xcode 11, so I'm inclined to check that one. So which box do I check, the first one which is iOS specific, the second one which is Xcode 11 specific but not iOS specific, or both?

If it contributes to your advice, I have recently gotten "loss of keychain access" warnings when updating some (but not all) older apps as I prepare for Apple's June 30 deadline for updated apps.

Thanks,

-- Josh

Replies

Developing for iOS may now allow for MacOS as well with Catalyst.

I assume that's the reason for the new certificate.

What is the expiration date of the 2 (Development is probably later expiration than iOS Development).

If you develop with XCode 11, I would use Development certificate now on.

Two of what kind? Normally, there should be at least two in the keychain; one for dev, one for dist. Not sure what you mean by 'Xcode 11 specific'...

See this link for types:https://developer.apple.com/support/certificates/

What do you mean by which box to check when working with them? Where do you see that? Are you using auto or manual code signing?

>have recently gotten "loss of keychain access" warnings