Label.text Error! - Unexpectedly found nil while implicitly unwrapping an Optional value: file...

Hello everybody,

I am new to iOS development and I found an error that I can not get past. I have read a lot online and on Stackoverflow but I don't understand why this error keeps coming up.

I have a table view controller and I want to write text to other view controller using:

navigationController?.pushViewController(viewController, animated: true)

I have this class where I already have an outlet for the label.

import UIKit

class PetitionDetailsViewController: UIViewController {

@IBOutlet weak var PetitionDetailsOutlet: UILabel!

override func viewDidLoad() {
        super.viewDidLoad()
    }
}

On the other class I have this code where I try to add text to the label in the PetitionDetailsViewController after tapping one of the rows in the table view.

override func tableView(_ tableView: UITableView, didSelectRowAt indexPath: IndexPath) {

let viewController = PetitionDetailsViewController()

print(petitions[indexPath.row].body)

viewController.PetitionDetailsOutlet.text = petitions[indexPath.row].body

}

I don't understand why this error keeps coming up. I have the outlet and initially the label is empty.

Why is it nil?

Accepted Reply

Sorry, I was missing one thing to make iOS build up the view hierarchy of the view controller.

override func tableView(_ tableView: UITableView, didSelectRowAt indexPath: IndexPath) {

let viewController = self.storyboard!.instantiateViewController(withIdentifier: "PetitionDetailsViewController") as! PetitionDetailsViewController
        _ = viewController.view //Make iOS to build the views

}

But this is not an ordinary way and you usually prepare another property in the target view controller and modify `viewDidLoad()`.

import UIKit

var labelText: String?

super.viewDidLoad()
        if let text = labelText {
            self.PetitionDetailsOutlet.text = text
        }
    }
}

and