Is Apple reading reports in the new Feedback Assistant?

Dear Apple,

I'm an iOS developer and provided feedback in the good old online bug tracker for many years.

Decent conversations with Apple egnineers often resulted in bug fixes or updated documentation.

The fact that my contributions helped to improve the products was rewarding.

So I kept adding reports in the new Feedback Assistant app in macOS Catalina.

But ever since (September 2019) I never ever got any response on any ticket.

1 month ago I even added a report if Apple even read my reports. Again, no response ever since.

So my question on this forum: Is Apple actually reading reports in the new Feedback Assistant?

This can either be answered by Apple, or by other Developers that hopefully did response feedback from Apple. Or did not.

Best regards,

Martijn

Post not yet marked as solved Up vote post of Martijn Down vote post of Martijn
2.6k views

Replies

After posting this, I found another developer with the same issue: https://forums.developer.apple.com/message/398429

Martijn:

Keeping in mind the entire process is a black box, 'many years' ago there were (a) far fewer devs and (b) the tools weren't as chatty, meaning the process now is tilted towards what I see as a significant uptick in automated reporting to the backend. Devs don't have to take time out to report bugs to be part of the bug tracking process...not new, but as I said, more now than before. Much more, I believe.

And while the numbers of devs have increased dramatically, I doubt the number of human engineers slaving over raw reports has kept pace, most likely supported by an increase AI. What the public doesn't know about the AI inside Apple would fill more than one book...

I'd expect such a scenario to result in an parallel uptick in companion tools that turn the info gathered into reports...more AI. Dev anonymity rules, and the expectation for dialog in the process, which was never promised before, goes down, because AI.