Few Mac Dev Questions

I'm a developer who has extensive experience programming Linux and Windows in mostly C, C#, Python, and a few other languages...

I'm trying to understand the Apple/Mac Ecosystem and as such, trying to draw paralells, similarities, and differences from my experience in software already.

I have a few questions:

1. Is Cocoa the lowest level API for native programming on macOS?
  2. Is Cocoa still fully supported?
  3. Does Swift run on a VM/interpreter which essentially uses cocoa APIs under the hood, or does it have an entirely different interface with the OS?
  4. Is it mandatory to learn/use Objective-C to program macOS native applications, or can I use plain old C?

Thanks for your time.

Replies

1. Yes for public API, in particular if you want to publish on Appstore, you have to use public API.

2. Yes

3. No VM/Interpreter. That's why performance is high.

4. Plain Old C alone, no. But you can also use Swift.

1. Cocoa is a library/framework, it contains AppKit (a UI framework) and Foundation (a framework that contains a lot of useful data types). If you need to make an app with a graphical user interface you will probably have to use it.

2. Yes.

3. Swift is compiled. Swift can access all the Objective-C / C frameworks and libraries, so it can access Cocoa too.

4. No, you can use plain C or other languages, but it's a pain to do so with Cocoa. There are C or C++ UI frameworks like Qt or wxwidgets if you want to avoid Objective-C / Swift or make a cross platform UI, but it all depends on what are you trying to accomplish.

With respect to 1: Cocoa is the lowest-level API for GUI app programming, but there are lower APIs for some other kinds of programming. There's a whole BSD/POSIX layer. There are various C APIs like Core Foundation, Core Graphics, parts of AddressBook, Core Audio, etc.